Career Resolutions for 2013

It was quite a heart break for quite a few who had depended a lot on the Mayan Calendar and expected the world to come to end this December, now that we know  the doomsday is not going to happen its time we started to think of the year to come. This is the time of the year when we start to think about new year resolution. Till now it has always been with quitting an habit, or related to working out and keeping in shape, etc., But when I recently came across this article in CIO about “9 IT Career Resolutions for 2013” I realized that my new year resolutions had never been career oriented.

The following are the career resolutions that the article listed out

  1. Work Better to understand my industry
  2. Build a Career Map
  3. Update your resume
  4. Build a personal website for your brand
  5. Create a refine your social profiles
  6. Build a social network
  7. Improve your follow-up skills
  8. Personalize your cover letters
  9. Expand your horizons

Well I can’t agree more on the above points. I do remember having made some very non career oriented resolutions in the yesteryear which I could not maintain throughout the year. However these resolutions above sure does make me feel that I can follow them.

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” – Confucius

Leave a comment